Storytellers wanted

You love children and you love books? Then welcome to the DIE BUCHPATEN! We are looking for storytellers who share our fascination for reading and engaging in participation readings for children of all backgrounds.

Participation readings

You will be schooled in the technique of dialogic reading for the participation readings. Dialogic reading is a way of storytelling, where children actively get involved – meaning that the children end up becoming the storytellers themselves. You can read more on the technique dialogic reading here. As part of the schooling you will also get to practice your newly won abilities with a trial class before the actual audience awaits you. Of course, you will receive a small compensation as a thanks for your commitment.

Requirements

Children are an honest crowd. They can get thoroughgoingly excited – and then all of sudden they start whispering with their bench mates. Therefore your commitment as a storyteller requires a certain amount of patience and assertiveness: You will be the captain of this kindergarten ship during 1½ hours. The children all look to you. Your task consists of telling the children a story in the technique of dialogic reading and of asking them questions. Lots of questions. The more questions you ask them, the more the children become the storytellers, which is exactly what we want! Once that has been accomplished, you make sure that the story keeps going on and that all children receive the chance to speak up.

The participation readings are held in Zurich and in neighboring communities. We are planning to expand into the whole German speaking region of Switzerland in the future. If you are interested, we would be happy to hear from you by message or phone: +41 76 329 55 58.

Picture books offer children with a foreign mother tongue access to the German language. With the help of the pictures, the children can playfully discover and learn new words and their meanings. Moreover, picture books encourage to start drawing and replaying the events portrayed. DIE BUCHPATEN accompany the children during this literary adventure and support them while they jump into a completely new language.

“Integration” is to be understood as the process stemming from dialog, solidarity and communal learning. Not only children of foreign backgrounds but also Swiss children from socially disadvantaged families are welcomed by DIE BUCHPATEN. They, too, profit from book gifts.

Our aim is to give all children access to the world of stories and reading through the magic of picture books.

VorleserInnen gesucht

Du liebst Kinder und Du liebst Bücher? Dann sind DIE BUCHPATEN das Richtige für Dich! Wir suchen Vorleserinnen und Vorleser, die Freude daran haben, Kindern verschiedener Nationalitäten Geschichten zu erzählen.

Mitmachlesungen

Für die Mitmachlesungen wirst Du als VorleserIn extra von den BUCHPATEN im dialogischen Lesen geschult. Dialogisches Lesen ist eine Technik des Vorlesens, bei dem die Kinder aktiv miteinbezogen werden. Das heisst: Die Kinder selbst werden schliesslich zu den Erzählern. Mehr zum Thema «dialogisches Lesen» findest Du hier. Als Teil der Schulung darfst Du dann Dein neugewonnenes Können mit einer Probeklasse üben, bevor Dich das eigentliche Publikum erwartet. Als Dank für Dein Engagement erhältst Du von den BUCHPATEN eine kleine Entschädigung.

Anforderungen

Kinder sind das ehrlichste Publikum, dem Du je begegnen wirst. Sie können ganz aus dem Häuschen sein vor Begeisterung – aber auch ganz schnell wieder abgelenkt mit ihren Sitznachbarn tuscheln. Der Einsatz als VorleserIn erfordert deshalb ein gewisses Mass an Geduld und Durchsetzungsvermögen. Während 1½ Stunden bist Du also der Kapitän: die Kinder hören ganz auf Dich. Deine Aufgabe besteht im Sinne des dialogischen Lesens darin, den Kindern ein Geschichte zu erzählen und ihnen Fragen zu stellen. Viele Fragen. Je mehr Fragen Du ihnen stellst, desto mehr werden die Kinder zu den Erzählern – und genau das wollen wir. Sind die Kinder soweit involviert, schaust Du, dass die Geschichte stetig weitergeht und alle Kinder eine Chance erhalten, sich zu melden.

Die Lesungen finden in verschiedenen Gemeinden in Zürich und Umgebung statt. In Zukunft wollen wir in der ganzen deutschsprachigen Schweiz expandieren. Bei Interesse sende bitte eine Nachricht über unser Kontaktformular oder ruf uns an: +41 76 329 55 58.

Bilderbücher bieten auch fremdsprachigen Kindern einen Zugang zur deutschen Sprache. Mit Hilfe der Bilder lassen sich spielerisch Wörter und Zusammenhänge entdecken. Bilderbücher regen ausserdem an zum Malen und Nachspielen der Geschichten. Die BUCHPATEN begleiten die Kinder dabei und unterstützen sie beim Eintauchen in eine für sie neue Sprache.

„Integration“ begreifen wir als Aufforderung zum Dialog, zum Miteinander und zum gegenseitigen Lernen. Auch Schweizer Kinder aus sozial benachteiligten Familien sind bei den BUCHPATEN willkommen und sollen von den Buchgeschenken profitieren.

Wir wollen, dass alle Kinder mit Bilderbüchern einen Zugang zur Welt der Bücher und des Lesens finden.